top of page
Search
  • laurenpatracey

The Big day!!

Wednesday the 9th of October 2013, I had all my bags packed and ready to go! I stood in my 2 bedroom apartment, watching my already legal yet not quite declared husband, pick up my bags and take them to the car. God I enjoy watching him, watching him feel loved and strong, feel me and our baby that is growing inside of me, smile happily, I remember not ever wanting that look on his face fade. The next few days went by fast yet full, they were full of preparations, laughter, anxiety, pregnancy outbursts and lost items. These are definitely the stages anyone will go through in the days leading up to their "big day", I was prepared and yet couldn't be prepared enough for this rollercoaster. it was the 11th of October 2013, I finished my dinner at a Greek restaurant down in NSW near Byron Bay, my whole family was there, so was Dylan's, I was full, tired and my feet were the size of 2 pumpkins, God i'm going to make this kid pay for showing up unannounced! I was standing outside the restaurant, it was chilly, I remember barrels of laughter coming from all the males that were with us, comments passed to and fro about the All Blacks beating the Springbroks in the 'Rugby Union World Cup' the year before. God I remember really enjoying being a kiwi and being able to rub that win in the in-laws face 😆, I shared a long eye gazing look with my legal husband but not yet declared husband, walking back to our cars. I held his eyes for as long as I could as I needed it, yet was too long for his liking, He kissed me goodbye as we parted ways to spend the night away from one another, I know traditional, I know but it was something I really wanted to experience. As we shared a long kiss, the boys wolf whistled behind us and all the women waved their hands and cried for them to shut up! God it has its flaws being in a huge Whanau ( Family) but sometimes I feel as if each and everyone of them were specifically gifted to me. My sister drove my car and was sitting in the driver seat, my other sister, her daughter and my mum, were also tucked and seat belted into the car already. My Dylan held the door open as his very far along, very emotional and tired wife/ Fiancé slowly climbed into the backseat of her own car. I turned my head before allowing him to shut the door, I gave my I am deadly serious, but you can push the boundary a tiny bit look to my Father, Paul, Dylan's Dad, Dion and my best friend, Brandon, cousin Jordan and our other friend Damien and said.... Take care of him, He better arrive back to me tomorrow as good as I am leaving him here with you now. They all laughed, looked at one another and in unison told Me not to worry, I wasn't worried, then I noticed the large smirk that went from one side of their face to the other and the fact they all shared the same facial expression. I arrived at my Aunty's house just down the road, she had a huge majestic million dollar house, over hundreds of acres, pure nature green views. It wasn't the house though why I was feeling so 'at home' I was walking slowly with my sister and soul mate Alaina, arm in arm with me as she was walking me inside, like I was incapable of walking. My sisters, nieces, Aunties, Friends and nephew (only boy allowed as he was 2!) were all in toe of me, sharing laughter, yawns, cheesy too many wines smiles and heels in hands. This was home, my Whanau in one location at one time and all for me, to celebrate me and my Dylan, to honour and watch the day I become a woman, this is my home. I was in my pj's sitting on the couch with so many women around me loving on me, my mum was giving me a foot massage, my Primary school friend Taylor, was brushing my hair, we watched a chick flick, ate snacks and laughed. I did my average extremely long pregnancy wee before bed, which I was sharing with Alaina, Taylor and had my niece in the room as well. Most rooms were over flowing with human bodies, I was struggling with kidney pain so Alaina my sister wanted to distract me by putting funniest home videos on. This show was something we used to watch together when we were younger, if one of us was sad, tired, grumpy, happy, angry, anything we would watch this together to try and cheer the other one up. Though to this day I regret this moment only because Alaina my Maid of Honour! had this genius idea to watch videos based on 'weddings'. Brides loosing their dresses, grooms standing on their brides, flowers girls screaming and crying and cakes falling over and smashing on the floor. Yes it was NOT her finest choice, but before I could even think we were ugly laughing and laughing so hard we had to take turns using the bathroom. There aren't many humans that can make me laugh like this, but my best friend and sister, Alaina & Taylor-Rae were 2 of my favourite humans that could. I woke up on the 12th of October 2013, The day I was to be married to my high school sweetheart, I walked into the Finest kitchen, with a feast to feed a village covering the entire 12 seater Dining table. Champaign was being popped everywhere, orange juice was handed to me, make up station, and hair stations were already set up and started on my bridal clan. Every fruit you can think of, which I 100% indulged in, this baby had a hankering for fruit this whole pregnancy, Everyone was full and in their dresses, with perfect hair and incredible make up across their faces. Photo's started...... and I'm not sure if photo's ever really stopped that day either...



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page