top of page
Search
  • laurenpatracey

First Love, Second Love...

Updated: Sep 28, 2020

My first love, He was tall, Dark eyes and dark hair, he still had a slight accent, a Gold pin across his tie as always, with matching beautifully crafted gold cufflinks. His deep voice always echoed through any room he walked into, not in a obnoxious way, in a clear and confident way. It was my father, A Girls first Love, He knocked on the front door while I waited perched in the lounge room waiting for his approval smile and teary eyes. My mother let him in, he walked through the foyer and into the lounge, I got a whiff of that familiar cologne, He has worn my whole life, and he did just that, he leaned in and kissed me on the cheek just like he always did. Cautious of my beautiful gown, freshly done make-up and perfectly tight curled hair, He whispered in my ear... "You are the most beautiful girl in the room" and I know he meant it. I also know it wasn't true, when after 30 years of Marriage, he leaned in and whispered the exact same thing in my mothers ear, and I wasn't even mad. I had a couple of more squirts of perfume, the bridesmaids checked my shoes and my maid of honour tucked me safely into my dress for the last time, I kissed everyone goodbye and told them all, I would see them soon. My father lead me by hand to the front door, I walked down 3 steps, were my father in-law waited in the driver seat of a white ( 1999, Evo 6 Mitsubishi, worked!! of course) If it was my choice I definitely would of chosen something with a few more cylinders, but this was a cherished car between Dylan and his father and I wanted him to have that. I got in the back and my beautiful, expensively, long Italian Lace wedding gown, took up the entire back seat, I remember reminding myself to breathe slower so people can't tell i'm stressing out! In that moment my dad, Paul turns around and says: " It's okay, to be nervous sweetie" and I instantly felt my body relax. My dad and Dylan's dad turned to one another and shared an devilish laugh as they both knew what it was like to be in my exact position many years ago, I said: "Thanks Dad" and settled back in my seat. Dion (Dylan's dad) asked if I needed anymore air con or a bottle of water, with a half kiwi half Saffa (South African) child inside of me, weighing down on my Blatter no water is needed here thanks!. Then I knew it was coming, My dad with his extemely handsome suit on but cheeky smile, turned around and looked at me and asked: " Do you need to go for a coffee?" I replied " Dad, i'm pregnant! and I have never drunk coffee in my life, no I do NOT want coffee?" and laughed and smiled back at me, "Okay sweetie, let me know if you need us to waste some time though, you know... some more time to think" I sat gobsmacked and was so confused. "Dion and I have Mapped a Zarrafas Coffee Shop that isn't fair from here." my dad explained, they both laughed. No, don't think he stopped their he continued, "Sweetie, are you happy?" and I replied now growing angrily at this point, because hello father! i'm in a white gown! I replied "Extremely" and smiled back at him with intent. Dad turned back to the front of the car now and sat back almost relaxed looking, " Well then let's get you Married!" finally! a sigh of relief went over my body, thankful the questioning from the 2 fathers had finished. With that feeling coming and going all in one swift movement, we pulled up to the church, Were I could hear the Organ playing from a mile away. My Bridesmaids, flower girls and page boy stood, in the foyer of the church from the doorway. Music had already started and one by one they filed down the line, (Jesus Christ! I need to vomit) I know I should't swear in a church but I wouldn't be, being truthful if I didn't share that I was having all of those thoughts. The first part of the song is coming to an end, the Corus is approaching and my mark to walk down the isle is vastly approaching, dad helps me out of the car and up the steps, I thank Dion for driving and tell him I'll see him in their. My arm wrapped as tight as it could possibly bend, longer around my fathers than ever before but yet still not long enough to fit perfectly, dad pulled me in tightly and told me to breathe. I replied: " I'm trying to" and he half smiled at me like he and I both knew I was NOT breathing normally, God what I would give to have his cool, calm and collected gene, right now. "Whatever happens, Do not let me go" I begged of him, "Sweetie, we have got this" he replied every more calmer than before. We walked the same foot step by step in complete unison as if we had done this hundred of times before, well I guess we had... a life time of walking like this... Father and Daughter. Then our foot steps went perfectly in time with the chorus of the song:

It's so unbelievable

And I don't want to let it go

Its something so beautiful

Flowin' down like a waterfall

I feel like you've always been

Forever a part of me

And it's so unbelievable

To finally be in love

Somewhere I never thought I'd be


I reached the end and without even paying attention to who I walked passed, as if I was in super speed mode, I turned to dad as he pulled the veil over my head and down my shoulders, He leaned in for yet another kiss of my cheek, I said "I love you" and he winked at me. I turned to face my Dylan. There it was my Second Love, My FOREVER love, I instantly felt my body ground into the church floor, my shoulders relax and my heart slow down. I had never seen someone so handsome, well put together, crisp, I turned and faced him, hand in hand, I look into his eyes without hesitation or awkwardness, It was quiet and calm when our eyes met. I now had a new home, this was my new home, You are my home...



84 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page